by Patrick-James
I would like to give credit to Brent-Emory..Johnson and his book "The American Sovereign"
for the information below.  It has been copied straight from Chapter Three of his book.  
Thank You Brent for an undying effort to keep us informed about this Great Country and
how the federal government has managed to screw things up.                                            


Jurisdiction defines the scope of a law.  All laws must specify jurisdiction.  No man-made law
carries universal jurisdiction; only God's Law does.  To properly understand federal
jurisdiction you must first look at the legal definition of the United States.

"The term 'United States' may be used in any one of several senses.  It may be merely the
name of a sovereign occupying the position analogous to that of other sovereigns in the
family of nations.  It may designate the territory over which the sovereignty of the United
States extends, or it may be the collective name of the States...united by and under the

"Hooven & Allison co. v. Evatt, 324 U.S. 652 (1945)

Note the second definition which says "...It may designate the territory over which the
sovereignty of the United States extends..."  The territory referred to includes the District of
Columbia (Washington, D.C.), Guam, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Northern Marianas,
and other federal territories such as federal buildings, forts and insular possessions.  This is
the definition of "United States" when applied to all federal law, and it specifically excludes
the 50 states!  Proof of this may be found in the Code of Federal Definitions, where in
January 1959, when Alaska became a Union state, all sections relating to the federal
definition of a State had to be changed:

Section 22(a) ...and sections 3121(e)(1), 3306(j), 4221(d)(4), and 4233(b) of such code (all
relating to definitions of a "state") are amended by striking out 'Alaska.'  

1959 Federal Code of Definitions

Before Alaska and Hawaii became states, each was included in the Code of Federal
Definitions as a federal "State."  Once they became part of the Union the CFD was
specifically amended to respectively strike out the words "Alaska" and "Hawaii," thus proving
the intent of the federal definition.  United States means the District of Columbia, Guam,
Puerto Rico, etc.  but specifically excludes the 50 Union states.

Also, note that the federal "State" is always capitalized, while the Union "state" is not.  This is
because the federal State is a government corporation and as such represents a title which
is always capitalized; the word "state" is not generally capitalized.  Similarly, the United
States of America (a government corporation) is not the same as the "united states of
America" or " united States of America," either of which represent the Constitutional
Republic which is the birthright of all freedom loving Americans everywhere.

Let's get back to the matter of jurisdiction.  As you now begin to understand, the general
jurisdiction of the United States does not include your state.  In other words, laws which are
enacted by the  government of the United States (i.e. Congress) do not have general
applicability to your state or to you as a state Citizen.  Let me illustrate this basic
jurisdictional principle.

What would you do if you received a notice from the local police department in Stockholm,
Sweden, informing you that you were in violation of some local ordinance, and that you must
either pay a fine (i.e. bail) or appear at the local courthouse in Stockholm to answer the
charges?  What would you do?  Most people tell me they would laugh, throw it away, and
ignore it.  Why?  Because their notice refers to Swedish law, which holds no jurisdiction in
America.  In other words, the law does not apply to you; therefore, you may ignore it.  
(Please note:  if you travel in a foreign country you must obey their laws, even though you
are not one of their citizens).

The same is true with respect to laws made by the United States government having
applicability to state Citizens.  Acts of Congress do not apply to the 50 Union states or their
Citizens.  Read that again, because it flies in the face of everything you have probably been
taught about your role as an American.  Acts of Congress do not apply in the 50 states!

A state Citizen does not need to obey Acts of Congress or follow the rules and regulations
which they attempt to impose on you.

To gain a proper understanding of this concept, let's look at the structure of federal laws.

Positive Law

Since 1926, federal laws have been codified into a set of 50 Titles called the United States
Codes (USC).  These titles embody all published federal laws.  Each of these titles has been
enacted either as positive law or non-positive law.

Positive law:  Law actually and specifically enacted or adopted by proper authority for the
government of an organized jural society.

Black's Law Dictionary, Sixth Edition, Page 1162

In general usage, positive law  is considered to include any law which has been promulgated
or officially published.  Federal law however, affords another definition and interpretation of
the applicability of positive law.

Positive law, with respect to federal law, means law enacted by Congress which has general
applicability among the fifty Union states.  In other words, it applies to everyone, everywhere
throughout America.  Examples of positive law among the 50 USC Titles include General
Provisions [Title 1], The President [Title 3], Bankruptcy [Title 11], Copyrights [Title 17],
Crimes and Criminal Procedure [Title 18], among many others.

This just touches on the information in Brents book "The American Sovereign."  I suggest
that you contact "Freedom Bound", Brents organization so that you may purchase this
amazing and truthful book.  The web page is